Slackness and a Snuff review

Lately I have been feeling very slack.

I am entered into a half marathon at the end of November and have barely been running in the last few weeks.

So much easier just to sit and eat Haigh’s Honeycomb Block. Oh yes.

Happy to say I am still managing to do at my morning and afternoon aerobics and walking to work.

A view of the Docklands Stadium, currently kno...

Image via Wikipedia

This excludes yesterday when I had a training course in Melbourne.

Up at 5am, left home at 5.20, arrived in Melbourne around 8am for an 8.30am start.

 

Room of about 100 male network geeks and me. Left at 5.20pm. Home at 9pm.

(The food was really nice – I recommend Etihad Stadium as a function centre – apart from the complete lack of signage for the room).

 

Consequently I have also been a little slack with updating this blog. So here goes nothing:

Snuff by Terry Pratchett

Samuel Vimes as he appears in The Pratchett Po...

Image via Wikipedia

Finally read 19th – 22nd October 2011

Another Vimes book. Vimes is definitely my favourite Discworld character.
Watching him develop from the broken, drunken man in Guards Guards to the reluctant Duke in his later stories has been a privilege.

However, as some other reviewers have written of Snuff, it does make it difficult to develop the character further.  So, if we assume that the character is as he is and this is just another episode in his life, this is still an interesting story.

 

Vimes is ‘sent’ on holiday with his wife Sybil, son Sam and man servant Willikins.
Of course he spends his vacation uncovering the local scandal and solving any number of crimes in the area.  His offsider is the young local constable and the main villian is the local sociopath for hire.

While I definitely enjoyed the story I did spend a bit of time thinking it was quite similar to ‘Nightwatch’. Another of my favourite stories it consists of Sam Vimes following the current sociopathic murderer through a wormhole back in time. Sam ends up training himself while tracking down the evil Carcer.

While the details are different the general idea is quite similar.
Travel away from the current watch, take an inexperienced watchman under his wing and spend most of the book chasing the bad guy and fighting the establishment.  The book builds to a big chase climax in which the bad guy gets away.

I did like the way the bad guy was dealt with in the end but was a little disappointed that we never actually met Gravid Rust.
Maybe that one is being left for the next watch volume.

 

In the end I still loved the book, especially Willikins.

2 thoughts on “Slackness and a Snuff review

  1. New Watchmen are trained in every Watch book, so I wouldn’t criticize that as a repetition; it’s in the nature of any Watch story. The villain in Night Watch doesn’t get away. I think a better book to compare with Snuff is Feet of Clay, in which there is a similar frustration with the system. In the end, I think the real villain in Snuff is the system itself, and the fate of young Rust is not physical death but social death, which for some would be considered worse.

    • Fair call with the training I guess, that is the nature of the story.
      And you are right about the villian in night watch, I guess I was referring more to Snuff in that point.

      Interesting take on social death, I like it.

Tell us what you think

