Deserted Island Books

Ok, so not the most original idea, but it is Sunday morning, this is what you are getting.

Received an email this morning from a book publisher I once purchased a Dr Who novel from.
The subject was (obviously) books to take when shipwrecked on a Desert(ed) Island.

What a great idea for a Sunday morning post.

So – the rules are – you are shipwrecked on a deserted island.
Food water and shelter are all taken care of although there is no electricity.

You have with you – the Bible, complete works of Shakespeare and 1 other book.

At this point I decided it’s my post and I’ll have as many books as I damn well want.

1. Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy (5 book Omnibus) – The Great Douglas Adams.
There is no way I am going anywhere without this series.

2. Discworld Series – Terry Pratchett
(Again – this is my game, if I want to count over 30 books as a single book I will)
If I had to choose just one I wouldn’t, but maybe the Watch series, or the Witches, or Tiffany, or Death…but the the Wizards are pretty good too. Damn it.

3. Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
If I absolutely had to leave this one at home (to make more room for Adams or Pratchett) I could.
But as a card carrying nerd I feel it needs to be in the list.

4. Some kind of survival or medical text. Possibly by Bear Grylls.
Would be worth a laugh and give me something to yell at.
Of course, if I got to the chapter on ‘Sun is going down, better drink my own piss’ it’s straight in the fire.

5. The Belgariad Series – David Eddings
Embrace the nerd within.

6. The Magician Series – Raymond E Feist
See above.
Read the first book in the series (Magician) as one of my texts for Year 12 English.
Don’t think that went down so well with the English teacher.

7. Complete Works – Agatha Christie
Read my first Christie novel on the flight from Sydney to San Francisco.
Quite enjoyable and good for a quick read.Not going to choose between them either.

8. Complete Works – Jane Austen
Yes, I am a woman in my 30s. I must have Mr Darcy with me. Deal with it.
I could probably cope with just Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility.
Keep thinking I need to read the rest. Maybe a deserted island would be the place.

I am sure there are several hundred more books I could come up with, but that is it for now.

Maybe some random books will wash up on the island for me. Hopefully with some moisturiser and clean clothes.

In the end – I want my kindle, solar power, wifi and unlimited downloads from amazon.
That might be cheating a little too much…

6 thoughts on “Deserted Island Books

  1. Pingback: Book Reviews | Words Form Windows

    • It is a great book.
      Loved the original rift war books.
      Was never as happy with the Serpentwar Saga books, maybe because the character I loved the most were reduced to supporting roles…

Tell us what you think

