Peanut Policy – updated

Read a news story today about the rising incidence of food allergies amongst children.

This is obviously concerning and there are many schools and businesses (including the one I work for) which have strict nut policies.

While I completely support the need for these policies, and even more the need for research into why these allergies seem to be on the increase, this will not prevent my next project.

A quest for the perfect peanut related snack food.

I did plan on undertaking this study while in the US recently, but there was so much high quality food available on our trip that it seemed slightly ungrateful.  Now I am home and responsible for the menus I have no such reservations.

Undertook a similar project in Auckland about 8 years ago – decided I had to try every Cadbury chocolate bar they had that weren’t available in Australia. In the end I just wanted a cherry ripe.

Anyway, back to the study.

So far I have tried the following:

Butterfingers
Disappointing – too sweet, too brittle, needed more salty counterpoint and a chewier texture

Peanut Butter M&Ms
Possibly the best M&M variety I have tasted. Great balance of salty to sweet.
Do not eat these straight from the fridge. They need to be room temperature for the full experience.
Actually, in a plane flying over the pacific ocean is the best location.

Moose Treats
Malt ball wrapped in peanut butter wrapped in chocolate.
Almost as good as it sounds. Super sweet, can only eat one in a sitting. Could do with better chocolate.

Peanut M&Ms
Good, easy to eat.

Peanut Butter Lindt Balls
Yes, they exist. And they are amazing.
Milk chocolate Lindt ball with peanut butter filling. Oh yes.

Next on the agenda:

Reese’s Pieces
Peanut Butter Cups

– I fully realise that the quality of the chocolate component is likely to be somewhat lacking in these options.
I am willing to make this sacrifice in the name of research.

Wish me luck and any suggestions on choices or availability would be appreciated.

Update:
A friend mentioned that I hadn’t reviewed a Snickers bar.
Readily available in Australia (I have had many) and this started me thinking.

What is the criteria here? Any chocolate bar containing peanuts? Or should I start with only Peanut Butter?

After a little research and some soul-searching I decided:
1. If I try every peanut related product I could be here for years
2. If I try every peanut related product I may end up the size of a whale.

So – for the moment, peanut butter only.
However, my research also listed Snickers in the Peanut Butter related category so it gets in under the wire.
(Disregard the peanut M&Ms entry).

Snickers
What could be wrong with peanut butter, chocolate and caramel?
Can be a little too rich and the peanuts always seem to be overcooked.
Definitely a better option than the standard Mars though.

Next challenge – sourcing more international chocolate bars.
I have a few possibilities in Melbourne and of course, eBay.

Will keep you posted.
Looking forward to Reese’s pieces and Kit Kat Chunky Peanut Butter.
Thanks for the tips Sandi.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Policy – updated

  1. Pingback: Driving me nuts « Princess Alyeska

  2. Pingback: Reese’s Crispy Crunchy « Princess Alyeska

Tell us what you think

