Peanut Butter, yes ma’am

White chocolate is marketed by confectioners a...

Image via Wikipedia

Have to start with a call out to an awesome blog: The Chocolate Peanut Butter Gallery

A woman after my own heart, or possibly stomach.

And another – Simply Blake – can’t argue with more peanut butter ideas.
(Like her blog too).

Now, back to me.

Some of you who have known me way too long might question my sudden love of all things chocolate and peanut butter.

“What happened to your love of chocolate and peppermint” one might ask.
“Didn’t you proclaim an undying devotion to ALL things chocolate, without prejudice or discrimination?” some might say.

My answers to these questions are “nothing” and “hell, no”. In that order.

I still LOVE chocolate and peppermint. It is an all time classic combination and has not been forgotten.
My horizons are simply expanding to try some new tastes.

As far an all abiding love for ALL things chocolate. As much as I am a rampant chocoholic there are standards to be upheld.

Good chocolate is required – Haighs, Lindt, Galaxy, Cadbury at a stretch.
Compound chocolate is not good chocolate. White chocolate is not chocolate.
My chocolate snobbery has prevented me from trying many chocolate/peanut butter combinations in the past as they do tend to come out of some of the less ‘pure’ chocolate houses in the US.
Corn syrup should not be in the top 2 ingredients of chocolate. Or at all.

Somehow the chocolate/peanut butter combination transcends those issues. It’s magic.

I suspected that there were a lot of cooking/baking/eating blogs out there, but I wasn’t prepared for what I found when I really started searching.

When I am stuck for a recipe my standard go-to site is taste.com.au

So I went beyond the bounds of taste-ness and explored what else is out there.
Not surprisingly, there are a lot of peanut butter and chocolate recipes.

This is one of my favourites so far:
http://www.lovefromtheoven.com/2011/07/19/chocolate-and-peanut-butter-recipes-bites-from-other-blogs/

and this one:
http://www.joyofbaking.com/

 

I think this might be my first effort:
http://www.cookiemadness.net/2008/08/peanut-butter-fudge-crunch-bars/

Time to get back in the kitchen.  Will keep you updated on any successes.
Until the new chocolate arrives anyway.

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter, yes ma’am

  1. Hey there, Princess Alyeska! Thanks for the shout out! Peanut butter and chocolate are two of my favorite combos as well. My hubby is big on chocolate and peppermint. Couldn’t agree more with what you said about white chocolate. It’s okay in those Fluffernutter bars. When we came across the recipe, my first thought was “I wonder how they’d be with real chocolate chips instead of white chocolate chips”. But we decided to make them by the recipe first time around.

    Great links above. The peanut butter fudge crunch bars sound divine. Happy baking!

  2. Pingback: Sunday « Princess Alyeska

Tell us what you think

