Harry Potter and the sad goodbye

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Finally watched Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt 2 on the weekend.

Now, I read the final book on the day it was released so it’s not like there were any actual surprises in the story line, but it was still an emotional journey.

Of course, I watched Part 1 again to remind myself where we were up to in the timeline, every death (while not surprising) brought tears.

I had to take a break between viewings, went for a run, pulled myself together.

When I recovered enough I started up the new movie.  Very intense, on the edge of my seat for most of it, didn’t even notice the time moving.

Lots of tears, a few cheers and Neville the hero!

Even loved the epilogue.  (Might have been my favourite part of the book).
Have to say though, Ginny’s hair was not good.

Love a good epilogue.  There is something about saying goodbye to characters you have forged a relationship with and not knowing what happens next.  A good epilogue ties everything up and (hopefully) lets you know how ‘ever after’ actually is happy.

Then I went on to pin about 20 Harry Potter references on Pinterest…
Especially liked the ones that compared the female roles in HP to the female roles in Twilight.   http://pinterest.com/jamayel/geeking-out/

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the sad goodbye

    • the aging was a little strange – they all ended up looking different ages, and given that they should have been between 36-38 – you are right, some of them definitely looked too old!

  1. J.K. Rowling is brilliant. I have the deepest affection for the Harry Potter series. My daughter is almost finished with book 6. I was very satisifed with the final movies. So glad they split book 7 into two movies. The only criticism I have is that Rupert Grint seemed to be somewhat disconnected from his role – particularly in DH2. I, too, loved the epilogue in the book. Considering that the actors are so much younger than the characters they portrayed in the epilogue, I think they pulled it off well enough. Great post!

    • Definitely love them too.
      I’ll admit to being a bit of a book snob at times, so it took me a while to start reading the series (sometime around the release of Goblet of Fire).
      (Refuse to read a book that everyone is telling me “I must read”)

      Glad I finally caved in and started reading them.

Tell us what you think

