Christmas Party #1…and counting

Last night was the first Christmas party for the season.

Christmas tree

Image via Wikipedia

The partiers of our company dressed up in their racing best and descended on the ‘Middle Pub’.  Sort of in the middle of nowhere, the pub is a compromise between the 2 towns that support the majority of the workers of our company.

The night started with a girly get-ready party at Mrs L’s place.
After some last minute outfit decisions and a lot of hair and makeup we waddled to the local pools for the bus pickup.

10 minutes later we were at the middle pub.

The night started slowly enough. We were told off for drinking in the car park, lots of oohs and ahhhs from seeing work people frocked up.

The theme was ‘A Day at the Races’ – the outfits ranged from the frocked up (gorgeous girls and boys in their finery and fascinators) to the dressed up (jockeys and bookies and santas, oh my!)

The Redemption boys (my boy, my favourite accounts man and his friend the drummer) played the first instrumental set. They were joined by the gorgeous Nicki for the second set. For a group who mostly hadn’t played in 10 months (with a brand new drummer) they were a huge hit.  Let’s not forget Moves Like Jagger – who were those hot backup dancers?

The Fashions on the Field event was another winner.
Mrs L and her blue shoes took out the ladies category.
The Fascinator category was won by the outrageous Mrs D and her hot glue gunned flower hat.
The mens category winner has escaped me…
The Trifecta (threesome) event was hotly contested (Mrs N, Mrs L and I were robbed).

More music followed with the Redemption joined by the gorgeous Liz.

There was lots of dancing, lots of drinking and a lot of fun had by all…until the window was smashed….

The bus left before midnight and the room cleared like a shot.
Being a band follower I had to hang around for the clean up, but a good night was had by all.

– I was originally going to try to rewrite Katy Perry’s Last Friday Night to describe the evening, but this morning’s hangover seems to have sapped my creativity somewhat.
Here are the original lyrics for your reading pleasure.

Katy Perry - MMVA Soundcheck

Image via Wikipedia

“Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)”
There’s a stranger in my bed,
There’s a pounding in my head
Glitter all over the room
Pink flamingos in the pool
I smell like a minibar
DJ’s passed out in the yard
Barbie’s on the barbeque
This a hickie or a bruise
Pictures of last night
Ended up online
I’m screwed
Oh well
It’s a blacked out blur
But I’m pretty sure it ruled
Damn

Last Friday night
Yeah, we danced on tabletops
And we took too many shots
Think we kissed but I forgot
Last Friday night
Yeah, we maxed our credit cards
And got kicked out of the bar
So we hit the boulevard

Last Friday night
We went streaking in the park
Skinny dipping in the dark
Then had a ménage à trois
Last Friday night
Yeah I think we broke the law
Always say we’re gonna stop
Op-oh-oh

This Friday night
Do it all again
This Friday night
Do it all again

Trying to connect the dots
Don’t know what to tell my boss
Think the city towed my car
Chandeliers on the floor
Ripped my favorite party dress
Warrant’s out for my arrest
Think I need a ginger ale
That was such an epic fail

Pictures of last night
Ended up online
I’m screwed
Oh well
It’s a blacked out blur
But I’m pretty sure it ruled
Damn

Last Friday night
Yeah, we danced on table tops
And we took too many shots
Think we kissed but I forgot

Last Friday night
Yeah, we maxed our credit cards
And got kicked out of the bar
So we hit the boulevard

Last Friday night
We went streaking in the park
Skinny dipping in the dark
Then had a ménage à trois

Last Friday night
Yeah I think we broke the law
Always say we’re gonna stop
Oh whoa oh

This Friday night
Do it all again
(Do it all again)
This Friday night
Do it all again
(Do it all again)
This Friday night

T.G.I.F.
T.G.I.F.
T.G.I.F.
T.G.I.F.
T.G.I.F.
T.G.I.F.

Last Friday night
Yeah, we danced on table tops
And we took too many shots
Think we kissed but I forgot

Last Friday night
Yeah, we maxed our credit cards
And got kicked out of the bar
So we hit the boulevard

Last Friday night
We went streaking in the park
Skinny dipping in the dark
Then had a ménage à trois

Last Friday night
Yeah I think we broke the law
Always say we’re gonna stop
Oh-whoa-oh
This Friday night
Do it all again

[Clapping] Woo hoo!

Tell us what you think

