stop me if you think you’ve heard this one before….

Entreat

Image via Wikipedia

Today I was completely diverted by a friend’s facebook post.

She had posted a link to a filmclip on Youtube.
Nothing overly amazing in that, but the link was to a song from that all time best of all thing music era – the 80s.

I LOVE 80s music.

Being a Friday, and almost Christmas, and a quiet day generally, I had a look.

Friday I’m in Love – The Cure
Such a great upbeat 80s brit pop standard.
Can’t believe these guys used to scare me.
The best thing is there were links to other great 80s clips:

Stop Me if You Think You’ve Heard This One Before – The Smiths
First heard this one about 10 years ago.
Favourite line: Nothing’s changed I still love you, oh, I still love you …Only slightly, only slightly less than I used to, my love

Love Will Tear Us Apart – Joy Division
Beautiful, emotive, ultimately tragic anti-love song. See Control. Just see it.
Although possibly not if you are prone to depressive episodes.

Girlfriend in a Coma – The Smiths
Remember this one being mentioned by someone recently as an influence.
Had to listen, then I realised I had heard it before.

How Soon Is Now? – The Smiths
Fantastic, awesome song.
Favourite line: so you go, and you stand on your own and you leave on your own and you go home, and you cry and you want to die
(Awful confession, first version I heard of this was the Charmed theme song)

Our House – Madness
How can anyone not love this song, or most Madness songs? They do tend to sound a little the same.

Echo Beach – Martha and the Muffins
Awesome summer song. Especially when it is a hot day and you live over 2 hours from the nearest beach.
Screw you Martha!

99 Luft Balloons – Nena
I love that a German Language song did so well internationally. Still a little surprised.  While thinking about this I stumbled across a clip of Sarah Chalke speaking to Conan O-Brien in German – now that was interesting.

I realised while looking at these clips that I really wasn’t in to any of these groups in the 80s.  Morrissey was way too intense, the clip for In Between Days just scared me and the only time I saw Madness was on The Young Ones.

The stuff that I really love now was only being listened to by the cool older sisters/brothers of the kids I went to school with.
My brother was not listening to cool music.

At the time I was much more into Wham!, Michael Jackson, and Top 40 crap.

George Michael and Andrew Ridgeley, 1985

Image via Wikipedia

Hey, I was only 5 when the 80s started. I discovered cool music a bit later.
Then I got old and stopped listening to new music.

While writing this post I came across some more gems.

Don’t You Want Me? – Human League
Fantastic song, also discovered much later than the 80s. Weird clip though.

Lovesong – The Cure

Oh, and what the hell is Adele doing with her cover of this?

I Think We’re Alone Now – Tiffany
Oh Dear God.

Lost in Your Eyes – Debbie Gibson
I was more of a Debbie girl than a Tiffany one.

Take on Me – A-Ha
Best film clip. Ever.

Never Been to Me – Charlene
There are no words

Holding Out for a Hero – Bonnie Tyler
Forgive me – but you have to watch the clip – so very 80s

Nothing Compares 2U – Sinead O’Connor
Fantastic, moving song – I am sure the Artist formerly known as was very proud.

It Must Have Been Love – Roxette
Ah high school angst. How Roxette worked for you.
And you have to love a film clip with a movie tie-in.
Speaking of which…

Love is All Around – Wet Wet Wet
I feel it in my fingers, I feel it in my toes….Christmas is all around me….
From Four Weddings to Love Actually…ahh.

I so have to stop now.  This could go on all night. There may well be a sequel – stay tuned.

Tell us what you think

