Ready Player One

I may have mentioned that I love receiving packages in the mail.

Since Christmas I seem to have bought quite a few things and 2 more parcels arrived today.  (Thank you Book Depository).

Today’s deliveries were:
Conqueror – Conn Iggulden
Ready Player OneErnest Cline

 

Conqueror is the final book in the Conqueror series, telling the story of the rise of Genghis Khan through to Kublai.

I haven’t started the series yet, but I read Iggulden’s Emporer series telling the story of Julius Caesar and loved it.

The series is currently on my to read pile.

 

 

Ready Player One was recommended to me by a friend.  From the reviews and blurbs I have read it appears to be set in 2044. Most of humanity spend all their time in a virtual reality game searching for the secret prize.

Full of 80s pop culture references, humour, drama and a pinch of sci-fi this could be a fantastic book.

I am hoping that I enjoy it enough to find a place on my Douglas Adams/Eoin Colfer/Grant Naylor shelf.  We will see.

One thought on “Ready Player One

  1. Pingback: The WTR Pile « Princess Alyeska

Tell us what you think

