The Avengers

We finally made a trip to the city (well, the outskirts anyway) to see The Avengers!

Apologies to the great Mr T and his movie reviews.

Avengers (comics)

Avengers (comics) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I loved loved LOVED The Avengers.

Much of the credit for my love must go to Joss Whedon and the wonderful Mrs S.

Mrs S introduced me to Buffy The Vampire Slayer (TV version) back in 2001.

Anyone who spent time with Buffy (especially the first few seasons) knows that the dialogue and the humour were what made the show.  The fight scenes were good, the relationships and character development were great,  but without the sharp wit and twists of language the show wouldn’t have done it for me.

The Avengers was very similar. Thanks to Joss.

Have to give some credit to the cast as well.  No one was particularly challenged, but they played their parts well.
Robert Downey Jr was brilliant.  Perfect timing and attitude.
For a HIMYM fan like myself, Cobie Smulders was fun to watch. Kept waiting for her to drop into a Canadian accent.
Mark Ruffalo was excellent as Bruce Banner/The Other Guy.

Back to Joss.

The back and forth between Tony Stark and Bruce Banner was so entertaining.
The relationship between Natasha and Hawkeye was intriguing, I wanted to know more.
(As always with a comic adaptation I want to read the back story straight away.)

The ‘Other Guy’ definitely had my favourite moments of the film.
His interactions with Thor and Loki had me laughing out loud.
I won’t ruin them for you – see the film.

Captain America was a good character and the ‘man out of time’ arc was interesting.
Just couldn’t divorce the character from Chris Evans‘ portrayal of Johnny Storm in The Fantastic Four.
I kept waiting for straight laced persona to come out with a smart a*&e comment.

There was enough action for the boys, enough relationships for the girls and enough clever dialogue for the geeks.
I will admit to not knowing enough of the original stories to be able to approve/debunk the storyline.
So I apologise to any hard core Avengers fans who may hate the movie for those reasons.

Other (similar-ish) movies you may enjoy:
X-Men – 1, 2 – based on a quite different but similarly interesting comic book series.
The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen – kind of a steam punk version of The Avengers. Love an ensemble cast.

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (film)

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

2 thoughts on “The Avengers

  1. I’m so far behind in reading blogs and post on my own. It’s good to catch up on yours!

    I couldn’t agree more with your accessment of The Avengers movie. I loved it for all the reasons you listed. Whedon is a master (I’m a Buffy fan as well) and, er, I couldn’t help but like Loki. Maybe it’s the British accent. 😉

    • I immediately ordered Thor and Captain America.
      Watched them both on the weekend – not as good as the Avengers but a couple of nice bits of back story.

Tell us what you think

