He just smiled and gave me a Vegemite sandwich

As a kid I had the same school lunch everyday.

Vegemite sandwiches every day for at least 10 years.

Occasionally I would mix things up with tuna, lettuce and mayo, but vegemite was definitely my go-to option.

Why do I bring this up?

Guess what my lunch is today?

Of course, now it is sourdough, lashings of  butter and vegemite.  A classier option.
Still quintessentially Australian.

Vegemite on Ice

Vegemite on Ice (Photo credit: tolomea)

Last night we had our weekly girls’ night.

My contribution was Mars Bar slice – so yum, so easy.

3 King size mars bars, 3 tblsp butter – melt.
Mix in 3 cups rice bubbles.
Press into a lined slice tray.
Melt some chocolate.
Pour /drizzle/drip over the top of the slice.
Refrigerate until set.
Cut and devour.

 

Mrs L made Irish Stew, Mrs J brought our the lovely non-alcoholic softies and Mrs N baked crazy American cupcakes.

Chocolate cupcakes with bacon bits.
Seriously.
Seriously awesome.

4 thoughts on “He just smiled and gave me a Vegemite sandwich

    • I think there may have been one or two pieces left when I wrote the post.

      Unfortunately the ongoing battle of ‘don’t eat it’ vs ‘eat all the food’ was waging and taking a photo would have been too much temptation.

      The slice probably lasted another 5 minutes. It was very tasty. Maybe I should make it again….

      • Hmmm, maybe you should… 😉 By-the-way, we finally tried Vegemite a few years ago and like it! A little goes a looooooong way. Though we only find small stocks of it, we’re able to find it relatively easily here in Tennessee.

      • True, you have to be gentle with it. I’ve eaten it my whole life and sometimes still over-apply.

        I am very glad to hear that it is available over there!

Tell us what you think

