Thankyou unknown gardener

I have purchased two houses in my life.

I have lived in 12.

Somewhere in there I toyed with the idea of building.

As much as I loved the idea of designing (thankyou Sims) a house from scratch, I never went that way.

Possibly I secretly believe that I would have designed exactly what I thought I wanted until I lived in it for 3 months and realised that the toilet was visible from the front door, or the bedroom windows looked into the neighbour’s kitchen or there weren’t enough power points anywhere….

All the unknown issues worried me – ‘actually your foundations will cost $20,000 because of the soil’, ‘that retaining wall is going to need to be 2 metres tall’.

And then there are the light fittings, the curtains and…. the landscaping.

Maybe I just don’t have the vision.  Maybe I can’t create but I can appreciate vision and creativity when I see it.

So I buy houses that someone else has created and appreciate all their vision.

 

We moved into to our gingerbread house in January.

About 8 months ago. So this year everything has been new.

First Summer, Autumn, Winter, and now, Spring.

Every season the garden shows us something new.

I want to take this opportunity to thank the wonderful, creative and visionary gardener who had this house before us.

In winter I planted jonquils (which I love). Since they have bloomed I have had the joy to discover so many other beautiful plants spring to life.

 

IMG_0199[1] IMG_0186 IMG_0188 IMG_0189 IMG_0190 IMG_0191 IMG_0193 IMG_0194 IMG_0195 IMG_0196

 

So, I thank you unknown gardener who made my house so full of beauty..

(And sorry about all the weeds. I’ll get to them soon, really)

One thought on “Thankyou unknown gardener

Tell us what you think

